INFINITELY MORE

This morning I heard a sermon about God moving and showing up in the most unexpected times and places. The professor speaking today encouraged us to stay alert and awake, for we don’t always know when God’s presence is going to rock our world. Well, today was that day for me.

Today I was reminded that sometimes God will lead you to a place for a reason way different than what you expected. More often that not I think God works this way – you think you are in one place for one thing, but turns out it’s another. I think that’s when we know we’re on the path to grow and to discovering something big + new + beautiful about ourselves…when we are so confused & overwhelmed that we end up crying into our mimosa watching the National Dog Show on Thanksgiving Day (just me?)

God put people in my life today exactly where I needed them but in ways I never would have expected. Like when I ended up praying with a friend about our homesicknesses. Or when a mentor of mine spoke potential into me that I’d never seen before. Or when my friend surprised me with my favorite juice.

I want to echo what my professor shared this morning – staying alert allows us to be aware of God’s presence in our lives. I feel like when the messiness and total confusion hits, then that’s where the magic begins. My favorite verse strikes me today as I consider how God might keep surprising me, just as soon as I feel as though I’ve “figured it out.”

Now to the one who can do infinitely more than all we can ask or imagine according to the power that is working among us… [Ephesians 3:20]

Let’s find peace in the midst of the chaos as we hold tight to the hope of infinitely more.

Leave a comment